image for Music item typeLunchtime Concerts at Wakefield Cathedral

Music in Unusual Places, from 6 Dec 2016, free entry

Lunchtime Concerts

Lunchtime Concerts

Contact

Wakefield Cathedral

01924 373923

Address

Northgate,
Wakefield,
WF1 1HG

Events at this Venue

Details

Head over to Wakefield Cathedral every Tuesday to enjoy a lunchtime break with a difference.

Take time out, relax from the hustle and bustle of Wakefield city centre and enjoy listening to the sounds of the lunchtime concerts.

Enjoy this free event and have a tea or coffee and maybe a biscuit from the café or bring your own lunch.

Different performers are on throughout the year varying from week to week.

See below for upcoming performers:

6 December 2016 - Tom Moore - Organ
13 December 2016 - Huddersfield University Students
20 December 2016 - City Carols

10 January 2017 - Organ
17 January 2017 - Leeds University Students
24 January 2017 - Jo Peach - Piano
31 January 2017 - WGHS 6th form scholars

7 February 2017 - Organ
14 February 2017 - “Northerly Winds” sextet
21 February 2017 - Leeds College of Music Students
28 February 2017 - Ackworth School Choir

7 March 2017 - David Ratnanayagam - Organ
21 March 2017 - Leeds College of Music Students

4 April 2017 - Molly Cochrane – soprano
18 April 2017 - New College Pontefract students

2 May 2017 - Organ
9 May 2017 - Rachel Shirley – Flute and Tim Knight - Organ
16 May 2017 - The Fairfax Ensemble
23 May 2017 - John Whelan - Baritone
30 May 2017 - Leeds University Students

6 June 2017 - Organ
13 June 2017 - The Big Drum
20 June 2017 - Christina Jones - Soprano
27 June 2017 - Paul Feehan - Piano

4 July 2017 - The Big Sing
11 July 2017 - Paul Udloff (Violin) and Peter Sproston (piano)
18 July 2017 - Liz Ball and Janette Fraser - Sopranos
25 July 2017 - Daniel Gordon – Piano

Baby changing facilitiesCoach parties acceptedDisabled accessDisabled toiletsEducation/study areaFacilities for groupsFacilities for educational visitsGift shopOn-site light refreshmentsRegional Tourist Board MemberWheelchairs availableAccepts groupsFacilities for conferencing

Children welcomeDisabled access

Event details

Dates Times
Tue 13 Dec 2016 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 20 Dec 2016 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 10 Jan 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 17 Jan 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 24 Jan 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 31 Jan 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 7 Feb 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 14 Feb 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 21 Feb 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 28 Feb 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 7 Mar 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 14 Mar 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 21 Mar 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 28 Mar 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 4 Apr 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 18 Apr 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 25 Apr 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 2 May 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 9 May 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 16 May 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 23 May 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 30 May 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 6 Jun 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 13 Jun 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 20 Jun 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 27 Jun 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 4 Jul 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 11 Jul 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 18 Jul 2017 13:00 to 14:00
Tue 25 Jul 2017 13:00 to 14:00

Prices

Free entry

Location

Directions

See location of Wakefield Cathedral on Google mapsSee location on Google maps

Map reference: SE 333208  Lat: 53.68259 Long: -1.49729

By Road:
Follow the signs for Wakefield City Centre from the M1 or M62. There is no parking at this venue as it is located in a pedestrian precinct. Pay and display parking is available on Northgate or at the Ridings Shopping Centre opposite.

Public Transport:
Nearest Railway Station: Wakefield Westgate Railway Station (5 min walk)
Nearest Bus Station: Wakefield Bus Station (2 min walk)
A taxi rank (Black and White Cabs) is located on Union Street (2 min walk)

Facilities

  • Baby changing facilitiesBaby changing facilities
  • Coach parties acceptedCoach parties accepted
  • Disabled accessDisabled access
  • Disabled toiletsDisabled toilets
  • Education/study areaEducation/study area
  • Facilities for groupsFacilities for groups
  • Facilities for educational visitsFacilities for educational visits
  • Gift shopGift shop
  • On-site light refreshmentsOn-site light refreshments
  • Regional Tourist Board MemberRegional Tourist Board Member
  • Wheelchairs availableWheelchairs available
  • Accepts groupsAccepts groups
  • Facilities for conferencingFacilities for conferencing
  • Children welcomeChildren welcome
  • Disabled accessDisabled access