Welcome to Castleford

Have a wander around the historic market town of Castleford, stop for a coffee and then discover Castleford’s Roman past at the museum.

Head to the waterfront and visit Queen’s Mill, once thought to have been the largest stone grinding mill in the world with twenty pairs of grinding stones. Explore the fascinating history on special open days throughout the year organised by the Castleford Heritage Trust.

Love to shop? Browse a range of independent boutiques in the centre of town to find those perfect gifts then head to Juntion 32 Outlet Shopping Village to explore over 80 high street favourites. Just across the road you’ll find your next adrenaline rush on the real snow slope at Xscape Yorkshire.

Explore this page, full of inspiring ideas and start planning your visit...

loading...
 September 2018>
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
loading...

Events taking place in Castleford

The Smiths Single

Spend, Spend, Spend

Castleford Museum

Tue 22 May - Mon 31 Dec 2018

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 18 Sep 2018

Meet the Curator

Meet the Curator

Castleford Museum

Thu 20 Sep 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 22 Sep 2018

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 25 Sep 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 29 Sep 2018

Adult Craft Session

Adult Craft Session

Castleford Museum

Mon 1 Oct 2018

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 2 Oct 2018

Eleanor Bentall

Binocular & Telescope Hands On Weekend

RSPB Fairburn Ings

Sat 6 - Sun 7 Oct 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 6 Oct 2018

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 9 Oct 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 13 Oct 2018

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 16 Oct 2018

Meet the Curator

Meet the Curator

Castleford Museum

Thu 18 Oct 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 20 Oct 2018

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 23 Oct 2018

Halloween Trail

Halloween Trail

RSPB Fairburn Ings

Fri 26 Oct - Sun 4 Nov 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 27 Oct 2018

Bats, Beakers and Balls

Bats, Beakers and Balls

Castleford Museum

Mon 29 - Tue 30 Oct 2018

Spooky Stories

Spooky Stories

RSPB Fairburn Ings

Wed 31 Oct 2018

There's a world of discovery waiting for you to explore at Castleford Museum.

Learn about life under Roman rule, dress up like a solider and find out how Roman conquests shaped the Castleford we see today.

Celebrate the town's rugby league heritage, explore the stunning collection of glass and take part in exciting family workshops held throughout the year.

Get closer to nature at RSPB Fairburn Ings.

Whether it's wildlife watching, pond dipping or bird spotting you're after, Fairburn Ings is the place to be for nature lovers.

A relaxing stroll through the woodland and along the trails will see you come across a variety of habitats so make sure you're on the look out!