Welcome to Castleford

Have a wander around the historic market town of Castleford, stop for a coffee and then discover Castleford’s Roman past at the museum.

Head to the waterfront and visit Queen’s Mill, once thought to have been the largest stone grinding mill in the world with twenty pairs of grinding stones. Explore the fascinating history on special open days throughout the year organised by the Castleford Heritage Trust.

Love to shop? Browse a range of independent boutiques in the centre of town to find those perfect gifts then head to Juntion 32 Outlet Shopping Village to explore over 80 high street favourites. Just across the road you’ll find your next adrenaline rush on the real snow slope at Xscape Yorkshire.

Explore this page, full of inspiring ideas and start planning your visit...

loading...
 April 2019>
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930
loading...

There's a world of discovery waiting for you to explore at Castleford Museum.

Learn about life under Roman rule, dress up like a solider and find out how Roman conquests shaped the Castleford we see today.

Celebrate the town's rugby league heritage, explore the stunning collection of glass and take part in exciting family workshops held throughout the year.

Events taking place in Castleford

Queen's Mill

Viva Cas Vegas

Queen's Mill

Sat 9 Feb 2019 - Thu 9 Feb 2023

In A League of Their Own

In A League of Their Own

Castleford Museum

Sat 23 Mar 2019 - Sun 1 Mar 2020

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 27 Apr 2019

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 30 Apr 2019

Tour de Yorkshire comes to Castleford!

Tour de Yorkshire

Castleford

Fri 3 May 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 4 May 2019

Adult Craft Session

Adult Craft Session

Castleford Museum

Mon 6 May 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 11 May 2019

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 14 May 2019

Meet The Curator

Meet the Curator

Castleford Museum

Thu 16 May 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 18 May 2019

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 21 May 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 25 May 2019

Castleford Museum

Hidden Secrets

Castleford Museum

Tue 28 May 2019

Castleford Museum

Hidden Secrets

Castleford Museum

Thu 30 May - Sat 1 Jun 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 1 Jun 2019

Cuckoo, John Bridges (rspb-images)

Birding for Beginners at Fairburn Ings

RSPB Fairburn Ings

Sun 2 Jun 2019

Adult Craft Session

Adult Craft Session

Castleford Museum

Mon 3 Jun 2019

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 4 Jun 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 8 Jun 2019

Get closer to nature at RSPB Fairburn Ings.

Whether it's wildlife watching, pond dipping or bird spotting you're after, Fairburn Ings is the place to be for nature lovers.

A relaxing stroll through the woodland and along the trails will see you come across a variety of habitats so make sure you're on the look out!