Festive Fun around the Wakefield District

'Tis the season! Celebrate the countdown to Christmas in style with fantastic festive events, workshops and activities taking place across the Wakefield district.

Visit Father Christmas in some unexpected places - from his cosy Victorian home at Wakefield Museum to a unique underground grotto at the National Coal Mining Museum for England. Experience a magical Christmas in a medieval setting at Pontefract Castle, or join in the colourful Christmas light switch-ons in towns around the district.

Fancy getting creative? Craft a wreath for your door, screen-print stunning Christmas cards, or even make your own tree decorations in a number of exciting yuletide workshops.

All this, plus acclaimed Christmas markets, fairs and other quirky shopping opportunities will be sure to put you in a merry mood.

What's On This Christmas

Christmas Light Switch On

Wakefield Christmas Light Switch On

Wakefield Precinct

Fri 16 Nov 2018

Santas Grotto

Santa's Grotto

Ackworth Garden Centre

Sat 17 Nov 2018

Santas Grotto

Santa's Grotto

Ackworth Garden Centre

Sun 18 Nov 2018

Pontefract Christmas Lights

Pontefract Christmas Light Switch On

Pontefract Precinct

Mon 19 Nov 2018

Castleford Christmas Light

Castleford Christmas Light Switch On

Castleford Precinct

Tue 20 Nov 2018

Cinderella

Cinderella

Theatre Royal Wakefield

Thu 22 Nov 2018 - Sun 6 Jan 2019

Christmas Market

The Hepworth Wakefield Christmas Market

The Hepworth Wakefield

Fri 23 - Sun 25 Nov 2018

Santa Underground

Santa Underground

National Coal Mining Museum for England

Sat 24 - Sun 25 Nov 2018

Santas Grotto

Santa's Grotto

Ackworth Garden Centre

Sat 24 Nov 2018

Santas Grotto

Santa's Grotto

Ackworth Garden Centre

Sun 25 Nov 2018

Fused Glass

Fused Glass Christmas Tree Decorations

The Hepworth Wakefield

Wed 28 Nov 2018

Christmas Market

The Hepworth Wakefield Christmas Market

The Hepworth Wakefield

Fri 30 Nov - Sun 2 Dec 2018

Santa Underground

Santa Underground

National Coal Mining Museum for England

Sat 1 - Sun 2 Dec 2018

Anglers Country Park

Christmas Crafts

Anglers Country Park

Sat 1 - Sun 2 Dec 2018

Traditional funfair ride

Christmas

Pontefract Castle

Sat 1 - Sun 2 Dec 2018

Meet the Pontefract Castle stonemason & have a go!

Meet The Mason

Pontefract Castle

Sat 1 Dec 2018

Festive Season

Festive Wreath Making

Yorkshire Sculpture Park

Sun 2 Dec 2018

Santas Grotto

Santa's Grotto

Ackworth Garden Centre

Mon 3 - Mon 24 Dec 2018

Screen Printing Christmas Cards

Screen Printing Christmas Cards Workshop

The Art House

Tue 4 Dec 2018

Dick Whittington & His Cat

Dick Whittington & His Cat

National Coal Mining Museum for England

Tue 4 Dec 2018