October Half Term

The weather's getting colder, the leaves are turning golden, and did someone say toffee apples?!

That's right: autumn is well and truly upon us. Not sure what to do with your little ones over the upcoming Halloween half term? Don't panic. This is the place to be for ideas and inspiration for the week.

Get your craft on with pumpkin carving, peg doll making or leaft artwork at National Trust Nostell. Build a sculpture or take a magical adventure through the autumn forest at Yorkshire Sculpture Park. Enjoy some spooky stories, Halloween-themed face-painting and crafts - or go on the hunt for Norman the Gnome at The National Coal Mining Museum.

If you fancy with a bit of history, look no further than Wakefield Museums and Castles this half-term. From discovering how Iron Age peoples celebrated their own version of Halloween at Castleford Museum, sewing an Ancient Egyptian cat at Wakefield Museum of getting up close to the past at Pontefract Castle, there's plenty going on. Download the Wakefield Museums and Castles planner to explore what's happening day-by-day with their handy calendar.

For a full list of half-term events, click here, or check out our top picks across the week by clicking the boxes below. 

Now all you need to worry about is your spooky costume!

What's On This October Half Term

Saturnalia

Saturnalia

Castleford Museum

Sat 14 Dec 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 14 Dec 2019

Walking in Obelisk Park

Parkland Walk at Nostell

National Trust Nostell

Sat 14 Dec 2019

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 17 Dec 2019

Santa Crafts

Santa Crafts

Castleford Museum

Sat 21 Dec 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 21 Dec 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 4 Jan 2020

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 7 Jan 2020

Wacky Wednesdays

Wacky Wednesdays

National Coal Mining Museum for England

Wed 8 Jan 2020

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 11 Jan 2020

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 14 Jan 2020

Wacky Wednesdays

Wacky Wednesdays

National Coal Mining Museum for England

Wed 15 Jan 2020

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 18 Jan 2020

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 21 Jan 2020

Wacky Wednesdays

Wacky Wednesdays

National Coal Mining Museum for England

Wed 22 Jan 2020

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 25 Jan 2020

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 28 Jan 2020

Wacky Wednesdays

Wacky Wednesdays

National Coal Mining Museum for England

Wed 29 Jan 2020

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 1 Feb 2020

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 4 Feb 2020