These boots are made for walking...

Whether you're after a romantic stroll through woodlands, getting active with the family, joining a socialble walking group or a challenging lengthy route, you'll find it all here.

Explore the area's heritage as you embark on the West Yorkshire Heritage Trail or explore the city centre as you follow one of the interesting Wakefield Civic Society trails.

Make sure you look out for special walking events taking place throughout the year too!

Walking Events

Thursday Health Walk

Thursday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Thu 24 May 2018

Friday Health Walk

Friday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Fri 25 May 2018

Thursday Health Walk

Thursday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Thu 31 May 2018

Friday Health Walk

Friday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Fri 1 Jun 2018

Thursday Health Walk

Thursday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Thu 7 Jun 2018

Friday Health Walk

Friday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Fri 8 Jun 2018

Lights on the Lake

Lights on the Lake

Pugneys Watersport Centre & Country Park

Sat 9 Jun 2018

Thursday Health Walk

Thursday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Thu 14 Jun 2018

Friday Health Walk

Friday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Fri 15 Jun 2018

Thursday Health Walk

Thursday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Thu 21 Jun 2018

Friday Health Walk

Friday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Fri 22 Jun 2018

Thursday Health Walk

Thursday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Thu 28 Jun 2018

Friday Health Walk

Friday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Fri 29 Jun 2018

Thursday Health Walk

Thursday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Thu 5 Jul 2018

Friday Health Walk

Friday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Fri 6 Jul 2018

Thursday Health Walk

Thursday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Thu 12 Jul 2018

Friday Health Walk

Friday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Fri 13 Jul 2018

Thursday Health Walk

Thursday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Thu 19 Jul 2018

Friday Health Walk

Friday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Fri 20 Jul 2018

Thursday Health Walk

Thursday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Thu 26 Jul 2018

The textile industry has left its mark across West Yorkshire, from weavers' cottages to mill owners' mansions, from pack horse trails to large factory complexes.

Discover the history for yourself with this handy map that's packed full of places to go where you can explore our textile heritage further.