These boots are made for walking...

Whether you're after a romantic stroll through woodlands, getting active with the family, joining a socialble walking group or a challenging lengthy route, you'll find it all here.

Explore the area's heritage as you embark on the West Yorkshire Heritage Trail or explore the city centre as you follow one of the interesting Wakefield Civic Society trails.

Make sure you look out for special walking events taking place throughout the year too!

Walking Events

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 16 Nov 2018

Friday Health Walk

Friday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Fri 16 Nov 2018

Nordic Walks

Nordic Walks

Frickley Country Park

Mon 19 Nov 2018

Nordic Walks

Nordic Walks

Thornes Park Athletics Stadium

Mon 19 Nov 2018

Nordic Walks

Nordic Walks

National Trust Nostell

Tue 20 Nov 2018

Buggy Walks

Buggy Walks

Anglers Country Park

Wed 21 Nov 2018

Thursday Health Walk

Thursday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Thu 22 Nov 2018

Nordic Walks

Nordic Walks

Pugneys Watersport Centre & Country Park

Thu 22 Nov 2018

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 23 Nov 2018

Friday Health Walk

Friday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Fri 23 Nov 2018

Nordic Walks

Nordic Walks

Frickley Country Park

Mon 26 Nov 2018

Nordic Walks

Nordic Walks

Thornes Park Athletics Stadium

Mon 26 Nov 2018

Nordic Walks

Nordic Walks

National Trust Nostell

Tue 27 Nov 2018

Buggy Walks

Buggy Walks

Anglers Country Park

Wed 28 Nov 2018

Thursday Health Walk

Thursday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Thu 29 Nov 2018

Nordic Walks

Nordic Walks

Pugneys Watersport Centre & Country Park

Thu 29 Nov 2018

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 30 Nov 2018

Friday Health Walk

Friday Health Walk

National Trust Nostell

Fri 30 Nov 2018

Nordic Walks

Nordic Walks

Frickley Country Park

Mon 3 Dec 2018

Nordic Walks

Nordic Walks

Thornes Park Athletics Stadium

Mon 3 Dec 2018

The textile industry has left its mark across West Yorkshire, from weavers' cottages to mill owners' mansions, from pack horse trails to large factory complexes.

Discover the history for yourself with this handy map that's packed full of places to go where you can explore our textile heritage further.