Welcome to Pontefract

Once known as the Key to the North, Pontefract is now a thriving market town with many stories to tell. From horse racing and secret ballots to King Richard II and liquorice roots, there's lots to discover.

Pick up a Visitor Map and Spotters Guide in the Library, and explore the historic streets of Pontefract. Discover hidden treasures at independent boutiques, browse the colourful stalls of the bustling market and enjoy afternoon tea with a warm Yorkshire welcome at a local café.

Don’t forget to pop into Pontefract Castle, only a ten minute walk from the market place, the castle has a new visitor centre and offers a superb range of fun family events throughout the year. Please note some parts of the castle are closed for important conservation works at the moment but there’s still plenty to see.

Time to start planning your visit...

loading...
 August 2019>
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
loading...

What's On in Pontefract

Copleys Corn Maze

Copleys Corn Maze & Fun Park

Farmer Copleys Farm Shop

Sat 20 Jul - Tue 3 Sep 2019

On Our Doorstep: Geoff Leathley

On Our Doorstep: Geoff Leathley Paintings

Pontefract Museum

Sat 10 Aug 2019 - Sat 25 Apr 2020

Green Man

Green Man Workshop

Pontefract Castle

Sun 25 Aug 2019

Band Concert

Concerts in the Bandstand

Pontefract Castle

Sun 25 Aug 2019

Pontefract Castle

Medieval Mêlée Week

Pontefract Castle

Mon 26 - Fri 30 Aug 2019

Museums For The Future

The Imagination Museum: Museums For The Future

Pontefract Museum

Wed 28 Aug 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 31 Aug 2019

Pontefract Castle

Pomfret 60

Pontefract Castle

Sat 31 Aug 2019

Summer of Space

Summer Of Space

Junction 32 Outlet Shopping Village

Sat 31 Aug 2019

Band Concert

Concerts in the Bandstand

Pontefract Castle

Sun 1 Sep 2019

Pontefract Castle

Castle Crafts

Pontefract Castle

Wed 4 Sep 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 7 Sep 2019

Farmer Copleys Dog Show

Fun Dog Show

Farmer Copleys Farm Shop

Sat 7 Sep 2019

Meet the Curator

Meet the Curator

Pontefract Museum

Wed 11 Sep 2019

Batik

Have A Dabble - Batik

Pontefract Castle

Thu 12 Sep 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 14 Sep 2019

Lantern Parade

Lantern Making Workshop

Pontefract Castle

Sun 15 Sep 2019

Religious communities in Pontefract

Religious Communities Around Medieval Pontefract

Pontefract Museum

Fri 20 Sep 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 21 Sep 2019

Lantern Parade

Lantern Making Workshop

Pontefract Castle

Sun 22 Sep 2019

Browse More Pontefract Attractions