Welcome to Pontefract

Once known as the Key to the North, Pontefract is now a thriving market town with many stories to tell. From horse racing and secret ballots to King Richard II and liquorice roots, there's lots to discover.

Pick up a Visitor Map and Spotters Guide in the Library, and explore the historic streets of Pontefract. Discover hidden treasures at independent boutiques, browse the colourful stalls of the bustling market and enjoy afternoon tea with a warm Yorkshire welcome at a local café.

Don’t forget to pop into Pontefract Castle, only a ten minute walk from the market place, with historic ruins and wide open space to explore as well as a state of the art visitor centre with gift shop, cafe and new adventure playground. The castles hosts as a superb range of fun family events throughout the year, keep your eyes peeled on our What's On pages for information. 

Time to start planning your visit...

loading...
 January 2020>
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031
loading...

What's On in Pontefract

On Our Doorstep: Geoff Leathley

On Our Doorstep: Geoff Leathley Paintings

Pontefract Museum

Sat 10 Aug 2019 - Sat 25 Apr 2020

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 25 Jan 2020

Beast From The Far East Chinese Night

Beast From The Far East Chinese Night

Farmer Copleys

Sat 25 Jan 2020

Cheese & Wine Pairing Evening

Cheese & Wine Pairing Evening

Farmer Copleys

Fri 31 Jan 2020

Soap Making

Soap Making

Pontefract Castle

Sat 1 Feb 2020

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 1 Feb 2020

Castle Crafts

Castle Crafts

Pontefract Castle

Wed 5 Feb 2020

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 8 Feb 2020

Pontefract In Old Photos

Pontefract In Old Photos

Pontefract Castle

Mon 10 Feb 2020

Meet the Curator

Meet the Curator

Pontefract Museum

Wed 12 Feb 2020

Copper Foiled Stained Glass

Stained Glass Workshop

Pontefract Castle

Sat 15 Feb 2020

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 15 Feb 2020

Ponte-Facts

Ponte-Facts

Pontefract Museum

Wed 19 Feb 2020

Half Term Crafts

Half Term Medieval Crafts

Pontefract Castle

Wed 19 - Fri 21 Feb 2020

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 22 Feb 2020

All Saints Church, Pontefract

Medieval Churches Of West Yorkshire

Pontefract Museum

Thu 27 Feb 2020

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 29 Feb 2020

Castle Crafts

Castle Crafts

Pontefract Castle

Wed 4 Mar 2020

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 7 Mar 2020

Meet the Curator

Meet the Curator

Pontefract Museum

Wed 11 Mar 2020

Browse More Pontefract Attractions