Welcome to Pontefract

Once known as the Key to the North, Pontefract is now a thriving market town with many stories to tell. From horse racing and secret ballots to King Richard II and liquorice roots, there's lots to discover.

Pick up a Visitor Map and Spotters Guide in the Library, and explore the historic streets of Pontefract. Discover hidden treasures at independent boutiques, browse the colourful stalls of the bustling market and enjoy afternoon tea with a warm Yorkshire welcome at a local café.

Don’t forget to pop into Pontefract Castle, only a ten minute walk from the market place, the castle has a new visitor centre and offers a superb range of fun family events throughout the year. Please note some parts of the castle are closed for important conservation works at the moment but there’s still plenty to see.

Time to start planning your visit...

loading...
 May 2019>
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031
loading...

What's On in Pontefract

© The Trustees of the British Museum

The Golden Age of Satire

Pontefract Museum

Sat 11 May - Sat 20 Jul 2019

Paulos Circus

Paulos Circus

Farmer Copleys Farm Shop

Thu 23 - Fri 24 May 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 25 May 2019

Paulos Circus

Paulos Circus

Farmer Copleys Farm Shop

Sat 25 - Mon 27 May 2019

Band Concert

Concerts in the Bandstand

Pontefract Castle

Mon 27 May 2019

Paulos Circus

Paulos Circus

Farmer Copleys Farm Shop

Tue 28 - Fri 31 May 2019

Kids Activities

Medieval May at the Museum

Pontefract Museum

Wed 29 May 2019

Medieval May at the Castle

Medieval May at the Castle

Pontefract Castle

Wed 29 May 2019

Let's Sow Some Seeds!

Let's Sow Some Seeds!

Pontefract Castle

Fri 31 May 2019

Civil War re-enactor

Civil Wars

Pontefract Castle

Sat 1 - Sun 2 Jun 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 1 Jun 2019

Writing Through the Ages

Writing Through the Ages

Pontefract Castle

Sat 1 Jun 2019

Paulos Circus

Paulos Circus

Farmer Copleys Farm Shop

Sat 1 - Sun 2 Jun 2019

Pontefract Castle

Castle Crafts

Pontefract Castle

Wed 5 Jun 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 8 Jun 2019

Meet the Curator

Meet the Curator

Pontefract Museum

Wed 12 Jun 2019

Have a Dabble - Quirky Hand Lettered Cards

Have a Dabble - Quirky Hand Lettered Cards

Pontefract Castle

Thu 13 Jun 2019

Farmer Copleys PYO Strawberry Experience

Farmer Copleys PYO Strawberry Experience

Farmer Copleys Farm Shop

Sat 15 Jun - Sun 14 Jul 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 15 Jun 2019

Beast by Night

Beast By Night Father's Day Steak Night Special

Farmer Copleys Farm Shop

Sun 16 Jun 2019

Browse More Pontefract Attractions