Welcome to Pontefract

Once known as the Key to the North, Pontefract is now a thriving market town with many stories to tell. From horse racing and secret ballots to King Richard II and liquorice roots, there's lots to discover.

Pick up a Visitor Map and Spotters Guide in the Library, and explore the historic streets of Pontefract. Discover hidden treasures at independent boutiques, browse the colourful stalls of the bustling market and enjoy afternoon tea with a warm Yorkshire welcome at a local café.

Don’t forget to pop into Pontefract Castle, only a ten minute walk from the market place, the castle has a new visitor centre and offers a superb range of fun family events throughout the year. Please note some parts of the castle are closed for important conservation works at the moment but there’s still plenty to see.

Time to start planning your visit...

loading...
 March 2019>
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
loading...

What's On in Pontefract

Sale of the Century

Sale of the Century

Pontefract Museum

Mon 14 May 2018 - Sat 13 Apr 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 30 Mar 2019

Band Concert

Concerts in the Bandstand

Pontefract Castle

Sun 31 Mar 2019

Farmer Copleys

Mother's Day Farmhouse Feast

Farmer Copleys Farm Shop

Sun 31 Mar 2019

Pontefract Castle

Castle Crafts

Pontefract Castle

Wed 3 Apr 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 6 Apr 2019

Grow Your Own

Grow Your Own

Pontefract Castle

Mon 8 - Sat 13 Apr 2019

Meet the Curator

Meet the Curator

Pontefract Museum

Wed 10 Apr 2019

Kids Activities

Sweet Characters

Pontefract Museum

Wed 10 Apr 2019

Have a Dabble - Pisanki Eggs

Have a Dabble - Pisanki Eggs

Pontefract Castle

Thu 11 Apr 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 13 Apr 2019

Our Feathered Friends

Our Feathered Friends

Pontefract Castle

Mon 15 - Wed 17 Apr 2019

Paint a Dragon Egg!

Paint a Dragon Egg! @ Pontefract Castle

Pontefract Castle

Tue 16 Apr 2019

Kids Activities

Easter Animals

Pontefract Museum

Wed 17 Apr 2019

Dragon Egg Hunt

Dragon Egg Hunt

Pontefract Castle

Thu 18 Apr 2019

Our Feathered Friends

Our Feathered Friends

Pontefract Castle

Fri 19 - Sat 20 Apr 2019

Illumination Workshop with Toni Watts

Illumination Workshop with Toni Watts

Pontefract Castle

Sat 20 Apr 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 20 Apr 2019

St George's Day

St George's Weekend

Pontefract Castle

Sun 21 - Mon 22 Apr 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 27 Apr 2019

Browse More Pontefract Attractions