Welcome to Pontefract

Once known as the Key to the North, Pontefract is now a thriving market town with many stories to tell. From horse racing and secret ballots to King Richard II and liquorice roots, there's lots to discover.

Pick up a Visitor Map and Spotters Guide in the Library, and explore the historic streets of Pontefract. Discover hidden treasures at independent boutiques, browse the colourful stalls of the bustling market and enjoy afternoon tea with a warm Yorkshire welcome at a local café.

Don’t forget to pop into Pontefract Castle, only a ten minute walk from the market place, the castle has a new visitor centre and café and offers a superb range of fun family events throughout the year. Please note some parts of the castle are closed for important conservation works at the moment but there’s still plenty to see.

Time to start planning your visit...

loading...
 August 2018>
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031
loading...

What's On in Pontefract

Sale of the Century

Sale of the Century

Pontefract Museum

Mon 14 May 2018 - Sat 13 Apr 2019

Medieval Tournaments

Medieval Tournaments

Pontefract Castle

Mon 13 - Sat 18 Aug 2018

Corn Maze

Corn Maze & Fun Park

Farmer Copleys Farm Shop

Fri 17 Aug - Sun 2 Sep 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 18 Aug 2018

Friarwood Festival

Friarwood Festival

Friarwood Valley Gardens

Sat 18 Aug 2018

Marvellous Magic

Marvellous Magic

Pontefract Castle

Mon 20 - Sat 25 Aug 2018

Retro Retail: Fashion

Retro Retail: Fashion

Pontefract Museum

Wed 22 Aug 2018

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 24 Aug 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 25 Aug 2018

Ruthless Tudors

Ruthless Tudors

Pontefract Castle

Mon 27 Aug - Sat 1 Sep 2018

Retro Retail: Cars

Retro Retail: Cars

Pontefract Museum

Wed 29 Aug 2018

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 31 Aug 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 1 Sep 2018

Ribbon Weaving

Ribbon Weaving

Pontefract Castle

Sun 2 Sep 2018

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 7 Sep 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 8 Sep 2018

Farmer Copleys Dog Show

Farmer Copleys Dog Show

Farmer Copleys Farm Shop

Sun 9 Sep 2018

Craft Stick Catapults

Craft Stick Catapults

Pontefract Castle

Sun 9 Sep 2018

Meet the Curator

Meet the Curator

Pontefract Museum

Wed 12 Sep 2018

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 14 Sep 2018

Pontefract town centre is steeped in history.

The town’s medieval ‘burgage plot’ street pattern can still be seen in the yards that lead off the market place, and many of the beautiful buildings you see in the market place today date from the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.

Visitors can enjoy the splendour of the Georgian Town Hall and Buttercross, the Victorian market and the decorative Art Nouveau town museum.

The Pontefract Townscape Heritage Initiative (THI) is helping to breathe life back into this historic town centre, funding repairs to key buildings, including historic shops on Gillygate and Ropergate, preserving them for years to come.

Click here to find out more...

Browse More Pontefract Attractions