Welcome to Pontefract

Once known as the Key to the North, Pontefract is now a thriving market town with many stories to tell. From horse racing and secret ballots to King Richard II and liquorice roots, there's lots to discover.

Pick up a Visitor Map and Spotters Guide in the Library, and explore the historic streets of Pontefract. Discover hidden treasures at independent boutiques, browse the colourful stalls of the bustling market and enjoy afternoon tea with a warm Yorkshire welcome at a local café.

Don’t forget to pop into Pontefract Castle, only a ten minute walk from the market place, the castle has a new visitor centre and offers a superb range of fun family events throughout the year. Please note some parts of the castle are closed for important conservation works at the moment but there’s still plenty to see.

Time to start planning your visit...

loading...
 April 2019>
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930
loading...

What's On in Pontefract

St George's Day

St George's Weekend

Pontefract Castle

Sun 21 - Mon 22 Apr 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 27 Apr 2019

Pontefract Castle

Pontefract Castle and the Shadow King Henry VI

Pontefract Castle

Sat 27 Apr 2019

Pontefract Castle

Castle Crafts

Pontefract Castle

Wed 1 May 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 4 May 2019

How to Grow Herbs for the Kitchen

How to Grow Herbs for the Kitchen

Pontefract Castle

Sat 4 May 2019

Band Concert

Concerts in the Bandstand

Pontefract Castle

Mon 6 May 2019

Meet the Curator

Meet the Curator

Pontefract Museum

Wed 8 May 2019

Have a Dabble - Silver Charms

Have a Dabble - Silver Charms

Pontefract Castle

Thu 9 May 2019

© The Trustees of the British Museum

The Golden Age of Satire

Pontefract Museum

Sat 11 May - Sat 20 Jul 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 11 May 2019

Ian Hislop&Tom Hockenhull:The Golden Age of Satire

Ian Hislop&Tom Hockenhull:The Golden Age of Satire

Pontefract Museum

Sat 11 May 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 18 May 2019

Pontefract Castle

Kings, Wolves, and Coroners

Pontefract Castle

Sat 18 May 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 25 May 2019

Band Concert

Concerts in the Bandstand

Pontefract Castle

Mon 27 May 2019

Kids Activities

Medieval May at the Museum

Pontefract Museum

Wed 29 May 2019

Medieval May at the Castle

Medieval May at the Castle

Pontefract Castle

Wed 29 May 2019

Let's Sow Some Seeds!

Let's Sow Some Seeds!

Pontefract Castle

Fri 31 May 2019

Civil War re-enactor

Civil Wars

Pontefract Castle

Sat 1 - Sun 2 Jun 2019

Browse More Pontefract Attractions