Welcome to Pontefract

Once known as the Key to the North, Pontefract is now a thriving market town with many stories to tell. From horse racing and secret ballots to King Richard II and liquorice roots, there's lots to discover.

Pick up a Visitor Map and Spotters Guide in the Library, and explore the historic streets of Pontefract. Discover hidden treasures at independent boutiques, browse the colourful stalls of the bustling market and enjoy afternoon tea with a warm Yorkshire welcome at a local café.

Don’t forget to pop into Pontefract Castle, only a ten minute walk from the market place, the castle has a new visitor centre and offers a superb range of fun family events throughout the year. Please note some parts of the castle are closed for important conservation works at the moment but there’s still plenty to see.

Time to start planning your visit...

loading...
 October 2018>
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031
loading...

What's On in Pontefract

Sale of the Century

Sale of the Century

Pontefract Museum

Mon 14 May 2018 - Sat 13 Apr 2019

The UK's Largest Pumpkin Festival

The UK's Largest Pumpkin Festival

Farmer Copleys Farm Shop

Sat 20 - Wed 31 Oct 2018

Season Finale

Season Finale Day

Pontefract Racecourse

Mon 22 Oct 2018

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 26 Oct 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 27 Oct 2018

Pontefract Castle

Wargaming - Battle of Wakefield

Pontefract Castle

Sat 27 Oct 2018

Hallowscream

Hallowscream

Pontefract Castle

Sat 27 Oct 2018

Pontefract's Sweet History

Pontefract's Sweet History

Pontefract Museum

Wed 31 Oct 2018

Halloween Craft Activity

Halloween Craft Activity

Pontefract Castle

Wed 31 Oct 2018

Ghost Walks

Family Ghost Walks

Pontefract Castle

Wed 31 Oct 2018

Ghost Walks

Ghost Walks

Pontefract Castle

Wed 31 Oct 2018

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 2 Nov 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 3 Nov 2018

Castle Crafts

Castle Crafts

Pontefract Castle

Wed 7 Nov 2018

Felt Wreath Making

Felt Wreath Making

Pontefract Castle

Thu 8 Nov 2018

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 9 Nov 2018

Ghost Walks

Family Ghost Walks

Pontefract Castle

Fri 9 Nov 2018

Ghost Walks

Ghost Walks

Pontefract Castle

Fri 9 Nov 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 10 Nov 2018

Meet the Curator

Meet the Curator

Pontefract Museum

Wed 14 Nov 2018

Browse More Pontefract Attractions