Welcome to Pontefract

Once known as the Key to the North, Pontefract is now a thriving market town with many stories to tell. From horse racing and secret ballots to King Richard II and liquorice roots, there's lots to discover.

Pick up a Visitor Map and Spotters Guide in the Library, and explore the historic streets of Pontefract. Discover hidden treasures at independent boutiques, browse the colourful stalls of the bustling market and enjoy afternoon tea with a warm Yorkshire welcome at a local café.

Don’t forget to pop into Pontefract Castle, only a ten minute walk from the market place, the castle has a new visitor centre and café and offers a superb range of fun family events throughout the year. Please note some parts of the castle are closed for important conservation works at the moment but there’s still plenty to see.

Time to start planning your visit...

loading...
 May 2018>
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031
loading...

What's On in Pontefract

Potwallopers

Potwallopers

Pontefract Library

Fri 2 Mar - Fri 15 Jun 2018

Sale of the Century

Sale of the Century

Pontefract Museum

Mon 14 May - Sat 1 Sep 2018

Xscape Tuesdays

Xscape Tuesdays

Xscape Yorkshire

Tue 22 May 2018

80's Night

80's Night

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 25 May 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 26 May 2018

Siege Event at the Castle 27 and 28 May

Siege Event

Pontefract Castle

Sun 27 - Mon 28 May 2018

Trebuchets

New Evidence of the Sieges

Pontefract Castle

Sun 27 May 2018

Trebuchets

What happened to John of Pontefract?

Pontefract Castle

Mon 28 May 2018

Trebuchets

All is (Un)Fair in Love and War

Pontefract Castle

Mon 28 May 2018

Trebuchets

The Fight Book of Hans Talhoffer

Pontefract Castle

Mon 28 May 2018

Xscape Tuesdays

Xscape Tuesdays

Xscape Yorkshire

Tue 29 May 2018

Retro Retail

Retro Retail

Pontefract Museum

Wed 30 May 2018

Medieval Tile Making

Medieval Tile Making

Pontefract Castle

Wed 30 May 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 2 Jun 2018

Xscape Tuesdays

Xscape Tuesdays

Xscape Yorkshire

Tue 5 Jun 2018

Castle Crafts

Castle Crafts

Pontefract Castle

Wed 6 Jun 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 9 Jun 2018

Lino Cutting and Printing

Have a Dabble - Lino Cutting and Printing

Pontefract Castle

Thu 14 Jun 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 16 Jun 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 23 Jun 2018

Pontefract town centre is steeped in history.

The town’s medieval ‘burgage plot’ street pattern can still be seen in the yards that lead off the market place, and many of the beautiful buildings you see in the market place today date from the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.

Visitors can enjoy the splendour of the Georgian Town Hall and Buttercross, the Victorian market and the decorative Art Nouveau town museum.

The Pontefract Townscape Heritage Initiative (THI) is helping to breathe life back into this historic town centre, funding repairs to key buildings, including historic shops on Gillygate and Ropergate, preserving them for years to come.

Click here to find out more...

Browse More Pontefract Attractions