Welcome to Pontefract

Once known as the Key to the North, Pontefract is now a thriving market town with many stories to tell. From horse racing and secret ballots to King Richard II and liquorice roots, there's lots to discover.

Pick up a Visitor Map and Spotters Guide in the Library, and explore the historic streets of Pontefract. Discover hidden treasures at independent boutiques, browse the colourful stalls of the bustling market and enjoy afternoon tea with a warm Yorkshire welcome at a local café.

Don’t forget to pop into Pontefract Castle, only a ten minute walk from the market place, the castle has a new visitor centre and offers a superb range of fun family events throughout the year. Please note some parts of the castle are closed for important conservation works at the moment but there’s still plenty to see.

Time to start planning your visit...

loading...
 July 2019>
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031
loading...

What's On in Pontefract

© The Trustees of the British Museum

The Golden Age of Satire

Pontefract Museum

Sat 11 May - Sat 20 Jul 2019

Medieval Sports Week

Medieval Sports Week for Key Stage 2 Classes

Pontefract Castle

Mon 15 - Thu 18 Jul 2019

Abba Night & Beer Festival

Abba Night & Beer Festival

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 19 Jul 2019

Copleys Corn Maze

Copleys Corn Maze & Fun Park

Farmer Copleys Farm Shop

Sat 20 Jul - Tue 3 Sep 2019

Medieval Tile Making

Medieval Tile Making

Pontefract Castle

Sat 20 Jul 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 20 Jul 2019

Live acoustic music

Live Acoustic Music In The Bandstand

Pontefract Castle

Sat 20 Jul 2019

Summer of Space

Summer Of Space

Junction 32 Outlet Shopping Village

Mon 22 Jul - Sun 1 Sep 2019

Family History

Cake, Cream, Clothing and Cloth - Family History

Pontefract Castle

Wed 24 Jul 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 27 Jul 2019

Superheroes Assemble!

Superheroes Assemble!

Xscape Yorkshire

Sun 28 - Tue 30 Jul 2019

Band Concert

Concerts in the Bandstand

Pontefract Castle

Sun 28 Jul 2019

Victorian Historians

Victorian Historians

Pontefract Castle

Mon 29 Jul - Sat 3 Aug 2019

Every Object Tells A Story

The Imagination Museum: Every Object Tells A Story

Pontefract Museum

Wed 31 Jul 2019

Come and celebrate Yorkshire day at the castle!

Yorkshire Day - A Victorian Garden Party

Pontefract Castle

Thu 1 Aug 2019

Potwallopers

Potwallopers: A Town Centre Performance

Pontefract Museum

Thu 1 Aug 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 3 Aug 2019

Live acoustic music

Live Acoustic Music In The Bandstand

Pontefract Castle

Sat 3 Aug 2019

Botanical Drawing with Sue Vize

Botanical Drawing with Sue Vize

Pontefract Castle

Sun 4 Aug 2019

Band Concert

Concerts in the Bandstand

Pontefract Castle

Sun 4 Aug 2019

Browse More Pontefract Attractions