Welcome to Pontefract

Once known as the Key to the North, Pontefract is now a thriving market town with many stories to tell. From horse racing and secret ballots to King Richard II and liquorice roots, there's lots to discover.

Pick up a Visitor Map and Spotters Guide in the Library, and explore the historic streets of Pontefract. Discover hidden treasures at independent boutiques, browse the colourful stalls of the bustling market and enjoy afternoon tea with a warm Yorkshire welcome at a local café.

Don’t forget to pop into Pontefract Castle, only a ten minute walk from the market place, the castle has a new visitor centre and café and offers a superb range of fun family events throughout the year. Please note some parts of the castle are closed for important conservation works at the moment but there’s still plenty to see.

Time to start planning your visit...

loading...
 September 2018>
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
loading...

What's On in Pontefract

Sale of the Century

Sale of the Century

Pontefract Museum

Mon 14 May 2018 - Sat 13 Apr 2019

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 28 Sep 2018

Autumn Festival

Autumn Festival

Pontefract Castle

Sat 29 - Sun 30 Sep 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 29 Sep 2018

Castle Crafts

Castle Crafts

Pontefract Castle

Wed 3 Oct 2018

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 5 Oct 2018

The UK's Largest Pumpkin Festival

The UK's Largest Pumpkin Festival

Farmer Copleys Farm Shop

Sat 6 - Sun 7 Oct 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 6 Oct 2018

Meet the Curator

Meet the Curator

Pontefract Museum

Wed 10 Oct 2018

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 12 Oct 2018

The UK's Largest Pumpkin Festival

The UK's Largest Pumpkin Festival

Farmer Copleys Farm Shop

Sat 13 - Sun 14 Oct 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 13 Oct 2018

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 19 Oct 2018

The UK's Largest Pumpkin Festival

The UK's Largest Pumpkin Festival

Farmer Copleys Farm Shop

Sat 20 - Wed 31 Oct 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 20 Oct 2018

Lioness Lantern Parade

Lioness Lantern Parade

Pontefract Castle

Sat 20 Oct 2018

Season Finale

Season Finale Day

Pontefract Racecourse

Mon 22 Oct 2018

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 26 Oct 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 27 Oct 2018

Hallowscream

Hallowscream

Pontefract Castle

Sat 27 Oct 2018

Pontefract town centre is steeped in history.

The town’s medieval ‘burgage plot’ street pattern can still be seen in the yards that lead off the market place, and many of the beautiful buildings you see in the market place today date from the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.

Visitors can enjoy the splendour of the Georgian Town Hall and Buttercross, the Victorian market and the decorative Art Nouveau town museum.

The Pontefract Townscape Heritage Initiative (THI) is helping to breathe life back into this historic town centre, funding repairs to key buildings, including historic shops on Gillygate and Ropergate, preserving them for years to come.

Click here to find out more...

Browse More Pontefract Attractions