Welcome to Pontefract

Once known as the Key to the North, Pontefract is now a thriving market town with many stories to tell. From horse racing and secret ballots to King Richard II and liquorice roots, there's lots to discover.

Pick up a Visitor Map and Spotters Guide in the Library, and explore the historic streets of Pontefract. Discover hidden treasures at independent boutiques, browse the colourful stalls of the bustling market and enjoy afternoon tea with a warm Yorkshire welcome at a local café.

Don’t forget to pop into Pontefract Castle, only a ten minute walk from the market place, the castle has a new visitor centre and offers a superb range of fun family events throughout the year. Please note some parts of the castle are closed for important conservation works at the moment but there’s still plenty to see.

Time to start planning your visit...

loading...
 September 2019>
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30
loading...

What's On in Pontefract

On Our Doorstep: Geoff Leathley

On Our Doorstep: Geoff Leathley Paintings

Pontefract Museum

Sat 10 Aug 2019 - Sat 25 Apr 2020

Religious communities in Pontefract

Religious Communities Around Medieval Pontefract

Pontefract Museum

Fri 20 Sep 2019

Dungeon Tours

Dungeon Tours - Heritage Open Days

Pontefract Castle

Sat 21 - Sun 22 Sep 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 21 Sep 2019

Friarwood Valley Gardens

Heritage Open Day

Friarwood Valley Gardens

Sun 22 Sep 2019

Lantern Parade

Lantern Making Workshop

Pontefract Castle

Sun 22 Sep 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 28 Sep 2019

Pontefract Castle

Castle Crafts

Pontefract Castle

Wed 2 Oct 2019

Pumpkin Festival 2019

Farmer Copleys Pumpkin Festival 2019

Farmer Copleys Farm Shop

Sat 5 - Sun 6 Oct 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 5 Oct 2019

Dig Launch

Dig Launch

Pontefract Castle

Sat 5 Oct 2019

Daily Archaeology Tours

Archaeology Daily Tours

Pontefract Castle

Sat 5 - Wed 30 Oct 2019

Meet the Curator

Meet the Curator

Pontefract Museum

Wed 9 Oct 2019

Clay Lantern

Have A Dabble - Clay Lantern Candle Holders

Pontefract Castle

Thu 10 Oct 2019

Pumpkin Festival 2019

Farmer Copleys Pumpkin Festival 2019

Farmer Copleys Farm Shop

Sat 12 - Sun 13 Oct 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 12 Oct 2019

Pumpkin Festival 2019

Farmer Copleys Pumpkin Festival 2019

Farmer Copleys Farm Shop

Sat 19 - Thu 31 Oct 2019

Junior Finds

Junior Archaeology Finds Lab

Pontefract Castle

Sat 19 - Sun 20 Oct 2019

Kids Activities

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 19 Oct 2019

Lantern Parade

Lantern Parade

Pontefract Castle

Sat 19 Oct 2019

Browse More Pontefract Attractions