Welcome to Pontefract

Once known as the Key to the North, Pontefract is now a thriving market town with many stories to tell. From horse racing and secret ballots to King Richard II and liquorice roots, there's lots to discover.

Pick up a Visitor Map and Spotters Guide in the Library, and explore the historic streets of Pontefract. Discover hidden treasures at independent boutiques, browse the colourful stalls of the bustling market and enjoy afternoon tea with a warm Yorkshire welcome at a local café.

Don’t forget to pop into Pontefract Castle, only a ten minute walk from the market place, the castle has a new visitor centre and offers a superb range of fun family events throughout the year. Please note some parts of the castle are closed for important conservation works at the moment but there’s still plenty to see.

Time to start planning your visit...

loading...
 December 2018>
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31
loading...

What's On in Pontefract

Sale of the Century

Sale of the Century

Pontefract Museum

Mon 14 May 2018 - Sat 13 Apr 2019

Farmer Copleys

Festive Walk Through Lights

Farmer Copleys Farm Shop

Wed 5 - Sun 23 Dec 2018

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 14 Dec 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 15 Dec 2018

Steady Cycle Ride

Steady Cycle Ride

Pontefract Park

Tue 18 Dec 2018

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 21 Dec 2018

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 28 Dec 2018

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 4 Jan 2019

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 11 Jan 2019

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 18 Jan 2019

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 25 Jan 2019

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 1 Feb 2019

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 8 Feb 2019

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 15 Feb 2019

Pontefract Castle

Clay Creations: Gargoyles

Pontefract Castle

Wed 20 Feb 2019

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 22 Feb 2019

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 1 Mar 2019

Buggy Walk

Buggy Walk

Pontefract Racecourse

Fri 8 Mar 2019

Kids Activities

Sweet Characters

Pontefract Museum

Wed 10 Apr 2019

Our Feathered Friends

Our Feathered Friends

Pontefract Castle

Mon 15 - Wed 17 Apr 2019

Browse More Pontefract Attractions