Welcome to Wakefield

Explore the city centre and you’ll find independent boutiques and high street favourites along with a choice of tea rooms and coffee stops. Take a tour of Wakefield Cathedral to hear the history of this spectacular place of worship then enter a world of discovery as you learn the stories of the city and its people at Wakefield Museum.

Delve deeper into our heritage as you journey 140m underground at the National Coal Mining Museum for England. Fancy something a little more elegant? Make sure you visit National Trust Nostell to explore an 18th century mansion set amid 300 acres of gardens, lakeside paths and parkland.

Celebrate the area’s art heritage and see world class sculpture at The Hepworth Wakefield. Prepare to be wowed as you explore art scattered across picturesque landscapes at Yorkshire Sculpture Park. It’s not all about the galleries; look out for self-led Artwalk nights where art and ale collide with pop-up workshops and live performances.

There’s so much to discover, take a look below for more inspiration...

loading...
 June 2020>
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930
loading...

What's On in Wakefield

The Unbelievable Chris Kamara Show

Theatre Royal Wakefield

Mon 6 Jul 2020

Seaside in the City

Wakefield Precinct

Sat 15 - Sun 16 Aug 2020

Seann Walsh: Same Again?

Theatre Royal Wakefield

Wed 30 Sep 2020

Buddy Holly & The Cricketers

Theatre Royal Wakefield

Wed 7 Oct 2020

QEGS Antiques, Vintage and Collectables Fair

Queen Elizabeth Grammar School (Senior)

Sat 10 Oct 2020

T.Rextasy

Theatre Royal Wakefield

Mon 2 Nov 2020

Exciting Science

Theatre Royal Wakefield

Tue 16 Feb 2021

Dan Hadfield as Gary Barlow

Cedar Court Hotel

Sat 20 Feb 2021

Luther

Theatre Royal Wakefield

Wed 3 Mar 2021

Mark Steel: Every Little Thing's Gonna Be Alright

Theatre Royal Wakefield

Wed 17 Mar 2021

The Rocket Man

Theatre Royal Wakefield

Thu 18 Mar 2021

Little Fix

Theatre Royal Wakefield

Wed 7 Apr 2021

Dracula: The Bloody Truth

Theatre Royal Wakefield

Fri 9 - Sat 10 Apr 2021

Step into a world of mystery as you discover stories of Wakefield people and their lives, some over a thousand years in the making, others are only just beginning. See the exhibitions come alive as you explore the museum through the special Digitrail.

And don't miss your chance to explore the extraordinary world of Charles Waterton, creator of the world's first nature reserve. Are you brave enough to stand on top of the caiman?

Discover more here