Wakefield Museums and Castles

Welcome to Wakefield Museums and Castles.

We are the museums with the caiman under the floor; where liquorice and voting collide; that celebrate sweet-filled-glass walking sticks.

We are the castles with fascinating stories, with wide open space to play, with historic ruins to explore and inspire your imagination.

We are adventure. We are fun. We are weird and wonderful. You are invited to join in. You are invited to delve and discover. Together, we are amazing!

Discover more at Castleford Museum, Pontefract Castle, Pontefract Museum, Sandal Castle and Wakefield Museum today.

Events and Exhibitions at Wakefield Museums and Castles

1966 World Cup Football

Playmakers on Tour: Horbury Sports Specialists

Wakefield Museum

Mon 16 Apr 2018 - Sat 30 Mar 2019

Sale of the Century

Sale of the Century

Pontefract Museum

Mon 14 May 2018 - Sat 13 Apr 2019

The Smiths Single

Spend, Spend, Spend

Castleford Museum

Tue 22 May - Mon 31 Dec 2018

Matilda: Quentin Blake 2018

Quentin Blake: The Roald Dahl Centenary Portraits

Wakefield Museum

Sat 14 Jul 2018 - Sat 5 Jan 2019

Nurses and Soldiers

Armistice 100

Wakefield Museum

Mon 5 Nov 2018 - Fri 1 Mar 2019

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 11 Dec 2018

Meet the Curator

Meet the Curator

Pontefract Museum

Wed 12 Dec 2018

Father Christmas at Home

Father Christmas at Home

Wakefield Museum

Sat 15 Dec 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Pontefract Museum

Sat 15 Dec 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Wakefield Museum

Sat 15 Dec 2018

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 15 Dec 2018

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 18 Dec 2018

Adult Craft Session

Adult Craft Session

Castleford Museum

Mon 7 Jan 2019

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 8 Jan 2019

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 15 Jan 2019

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 22 Jan 2019

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 29 Jan 2019

Adult Craft Session

Adult Craft Session

Castleford Museum

Mon 4 Feb 2019

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 5 Feb 2019

Crafty Crocs

Crafty Crocs

Wakefield Museum

Tue 5 Feb 2019