Wakefield Museums and Castles

Welcome to Wakefield Museums and Castles.

We are the museums with the caiman under the floor; where liquorice and voting collide; that celebrate sweet-filled-glass walking sticks.

We are the castles with fascinating stories, with wide open space to play, with historic ruins to explore and inspire your imagination.

We are adventure. We are fun. We are weird and wonderful. You are invited to join in. You are invited to delve and discover. Together, we are amazing!

Discover more at Castleford Museum, Pontefract Castle, Pontefract Museum, Sandal Castle and Wakefield Museum today.

Events and Exhibitions at Wakefield Museums and Castles

Waste Not

Waste Not: How Wakefield Made Steam Green

Wakefield Museum

Sat 2 Feb - Sat 11 May 2019

In A League of Their Own

In A League of Their Own

Castleford Museum

Sat 23 Mar 2019 - Sun 1 Mar 2020

St George's Day

St George's Weekend

Pontefract Castle

Sun 21 - Mon 22 Apr 2019

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 23 Apr 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Wakefield Museum

Sat 27 Apr 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 27 Apr 2019

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 30 Apr 2019

Meet the Curator

Meet the Curator

Wakefield Museum

Thu 2 May 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Wakefield Museum

Sat 4 May 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 4 May 2019

How to Grow Herbs for the Kitchen

How to Grow Herbs for the Kitchen

Pontefract Castle

Sat 4 May 2019

Band Concert

Concerts in the Bandstand

Pontefract Castle

Mon 6 May 2019

Adult Craft Session

Adult Craft Session

Castleford Museum

Mon 6 May 2019

Crafty Crocs

Crafty Crocs

Wakefield Museum

Tue 7 May 2019

Meet the Curator

Meet the Curator

Pontefract Museum

Wed 8 May 2019

Have a Dabble - Silver Charms

Have a Dabble - Silver Charms

Pontefract Castle

Thu 9 May 2019

© The Trustees of the British Museum

The Golden Age of Satire

Pontefract Museum

Sat 11 May - Sat 20 Jul 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Wakefield Museum

Sat 11 May 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 11 May 2019

Ian Hislop&Tom Hockenhull:The Golden Age of Satire

Ian Hislop&Tom Hockenhull:The Golden Age of Satire

Pontefract Museum

Sat 11 May 2019