Wakefield Museums and Castles

Welcome to Wakefield Museums and Castles.

We are the museums with the caiman under the floor; where liquorice and voting collide; that celebrate sweet-filled-glass walking sticks.

We are the castles with fascinating stories, with wide open space to play, with historic ruins to explore and inspire your imagination.

We are adventure. We are fun. We are weird and wonderful. You are invited to join in. You are invited to delve and discover. Together, we are amazing!

Discover more at Castleford Museum, Pontefract Castle, Pontefract Museum, Sandal Castle and Wakefield Museum today.

Check out the January to June 2020 What's On Guide by clicking the image to the right!

What's On Jan - Jul 2020

Events and Exhibitions at Wakefield Museums and Castles

Playmakers On Tour

Playmakers On Tour: Horbury Sports Specialists

Wakefield Museum

Sat 2 Feb 2019 - Fri 25 Sep 2020

In A League of Their Own

In A League of Their Own

Castleford Museum

Sat 23 Mar 2019 - Sat 28 Mar 2020

Gateway To Eternity

Gateway to Eternity

Wakefield Museum

Sat 6 Jul 2019 - Sat 4 Jul 2020

On Our Doorstep: Geoff Leathley

On Our Doorstep: Geoff Leathley Paintings

Pontefract Museum

Sat 10 Aug 2019 - Sat 25 Apr 2020

Knitting On The Nile

Knitting On The Nile

Wakefield Museum

Mon 14 Oct 2019 - Sat 4 Jul 2020

Empowering Heritage

Empowering Heritage

Wakefield Museum

Sat 9 Nov 2019 - Fri 1 May 2020

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 25 Feb 2020

All Saints Church, Pontefract

Medieval Churches Of West Yorkshire

Pontefract Museum

Thu 27 Feb 2020

Family Fun

Family Fun

Wakefield Museum

Sat 29 Feb 2020

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 29 Feb 2020

Adult Craft Session

Adult Craft Session

Castleford Museum

Mon 2 Mar 2020

Crafty Crocs

Crafty Crocs

Wakefield Museum

Tue 3 Mar 2020

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 3 Mar 2020

Castle Crafts

Castle Crafts

Pontefract Castle

Wed 4 Mar 2020

Meet the Curator

Meet the Curator

Wakefield Museum

Thu 5 Mar 2020

Family Fun

Family Fun

Wakefield Museum

Sat 7 Mar 2020

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 7 Mar 2020

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 10 Mar 2020

Meet the Curator

Meet the Curator

Pontefract Museum

Wed 11 Mar 2020

Chocolate Easter Eggs

Have A Dabble: Chocolate Easter Eggs

Pontefract Castle

Thu 12 Mar 2020