Wakefield Museums and Castles

Welcome to Wakefield Museums and Castles.

We are the museums with the caiman under the floor; where liquorice and voting collide; that celebrate sweet-filled-glass walking sticks.

We are the castles with fascinating stories, with wide open space to play, with historic ruins to explore and inspire your imagination.

We are adventure. We are fun. We are weird and wonderful. You are invited to join in. You are invited to delve and discover. Together, we are amazing!

Discover more at Castleford Museum, Pontefract Castle, Pontefract Museum, Sandal Castle and Wakefield Museum today.

Find something fun to do every day of the summer holidays with our Summer Planner 2019 HERE.

Events and Exhibitions at Wakefield Museums and Castles

Playmakers On Tour

Playmakers On Tour: Horbury Sports Specialists

Wakefield Museum

Sat 2 Feb - Wed 25 Sep 2019

In A League of Their Own

In A League of Their Own

Castleford Museum

Sat 23 Mar 2019 - Sun 1 Mar 2020

Gateway To Eternity

Gateway to Eternity

Wakefield Museum

Sat 6 Jul 2019 - Sat 4 Jul 2020

On Our Doorstep: Geoff Leathley

On Our Doorstep: Geoff Leathley Paintings

Pontefract Museum

Sat 10 Aug 2019 - Sat 25 Apr 2020

Fact or fiction?

The Imagination Museum: Fact Or Fiction?

Pontefract Museum

Wed 21 Aug 2019

Rugby Week!

Rugby Week!

Castleford Museum

Thu 22 - Sat 24 Aug 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Wakefield Museum

Sat 24 Aug 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 24 Aug 2019

Live acoustic music

Live Acoustic Music In The Bandstand

Pontefract Castle

Sat 24 Aug 2019

Green Man

Green Man Workshop

Pontefract Castle

Sun 25 Aug 2019

Band Concert

Concerts in the Bandstand

Pontefract Castle

Sun 25 Aug 2019

Handsome Hats

Handsome Hats

Castleford Museum

Tue 27 Aug 2019

Mini Museum Explorers

Mini Museum Explorers

Wakefield Museum

Tue 27 Aug 2019

Museums For The Future

The Imagination Museum: Museums For The Future

Pontefract Museum

Wed 28 Aug 2019

Handsome Hats

Handsome Hats

Castleford Museum

Thu 29 - Sat 31 Aug 2019

Seega

Learn To Play... Seega

Wakefield Museum

Thu 29 Aug 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Wakefield Museum

Sat 31 Aug 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 31 Aug 2019

Band Concert

Concerts in the Bandstand

Pontefract Castle

Sun 1 Sep 2019

Adult Craft Session

Adult Craft Session

Castleford Museum

Mon 2 Sep 2019