Wakefield Museums and Castles

Welcome to Wakefield Museums and Castles.

We are the museums with the caiman under the floor; where liquorice and voting collide; that celebrate sweet-filled-glass walking sticks.

We are the castles with fascinating stories, with wide open space to play, with historic ruins to explore and inspire your imagination.

We are adventure. We are fun. We are weird and wonderful. You are invited to join in. You are invited to delve and discover. Together, we are amazing!

Discover more at Castleford Museum, Pontefract Castle, Pontefract Museum, Sandal Castle and Wakefield Museum today.

Events and Exhibitions at Wakefield Museums and Castles

1966 World Cup Football

Playmakers on Tour: Horbury Sports Specialists

Wakefield Museum

Mon 16 Apr 2018 - Sat 30 Mar 2019

Sale of the Century

Sale of the Century

Pontefract Museum

Mon 14 May 2018 - Sat 13 Apr 2019

Nurses and Soldiers

Armistice 100

Wakefield Museum

Mon 5 Nov 2018 - Fri 1 Mar 2019

Waste Not

Waste Not: How Wakefield Made Steam Green

Wakefield Museum

Sat 2 Feb - Sat 11 May 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Wakefield Museum

Sat 16 Feb 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 16 Feb 2019

Meet The Curator

Meet the Curator

Castleford Museum

Thu 21 Feb 2019

Rhubarb

Let's Make Rhubarb Crumble!

Wakefield Museum

Fri 22 Feb 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Wakefield Museum

Sat 23 Feb 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 23 Feb 2019

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 26 Feb 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Wakefield Museum

Sat 2 Mar 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 2 Mar 2019

Adult Craft Session

Adult Craft Session

Castleford Museum

Mon 4 Mar 2019

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 5 Mar 2019

Crafty Crocs

Crafty Crocs

Wakefield Museum

Tue 5 Mar 2019

Meet the Curator

Meet the Curator

Wakefield Museum

Thu 7 Mar 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Wakefield Museum

Sat 9 Mar 2019

Family Fun

Family Fun

Castleford Museum

Sat 9 Mar 2019

Toddler Tuesdays

Toddler Tuesdays

Castleford Museum

Tue 12 Mar 2019